Verification: 472acb06bbb2f6379ffcdd5ef9b6d310
Home » Blog » Griffins International School celebrates Annual Sports Day

Griffins International School celebrates Annual Sports Day

Griffins International School celebrates Annual Sports Day

Kolkata / Kharagpur: Griffins International School Kharagpur successfully celebrated Annual Sports Day. Games and sports have become an integral element of present-day education. Sports teach us the most valuable lessons of life i.e. Resilience, Perseverance, Leadership and Team-work, which, in turn, help an individual to build a strong character.

Griffins International School, Kharagpur, with an aim to bring holistic development among students, organised its Annual Sports Meet 2022-2023 for students of Nursery to Grade V on Saturday, 28th January, 2023 in the school premises.

The event was graced by distinguished Chief Guest Ms. Shahwar Hashmi, President – SERWWO (South Eastern Railway Women’s Welfare Organisation), Kharagpur Division.

Ms. Priyanka, Senior Sports Officer, IIT Kharagpur, graced the occasion as the Guest of Honour.

The programme commenced with the Welcome Speech by the Principal Ms. Renu Aneja. Soon after, the dignitaries and the guests were greeted with the Welcome Song and was followed by the Lighting of the Torch. Post the ceremonial inauguration of the Annual Sports Meet by the dignitaries, the Chairman Mr. Abhishek Kumar Yadav enlightened the students with his encouraging words. The Guest of Honour was very delighted to see students of Primary wing performing with enthusiasm and motivated them with important life skills learnt through sports and games. She also emphasized on discipline and urged the parents to encourage them to play outdoor games rather than playing mobile games. The Chief Guest appreciated the efforts of the teachers and students in putting up the event. She further encouraged the students to work hard and put their best in all the work they take up.

The welcome rally was performed by the students of Classes Nursery to Grade II showcasing the motto of the school and sports. The Oath Taking Ceremony took place House wise with students from Grade III to V, spearheaded by the Headmistress Ms. Ruma Mazumdar. A series of colourful events followed soon after comprising of Puzzle Race, Flag Race and Jacket Race to name a few. The sports events for Grades III to V included Flat Race of 50m, 100m and Relay Race of 4x100m for both girls and boys.

During the Prize Distribution Ceremony, the enthusiastic winners were awarded by the honourable Chief Guest, the Guest of Honour, the Chairman, the Principal, and the Headmistress. The delightful winners bagged the medals and certificates in different categories of events.

The prestigious Champion Trophy was bagged by Phoenix House for scoring the highest points.

The programme concluded with the Vote of Thanks delivered by Aripra Chakraborty, Junior School Prefect, followed by the National Anthem sung by the gathering with immense pride.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *